The Surry Arts Council - Mount Airy, NC The Surry Arts Council - Mount Airy, NC The Surry Arts Council - Mount Airy, NC The Surry Arts Council - Mount Airy, NC
Surry Arts Council


SURRY ARTS COUNCIL 2009-2010 SCHEDULE


Oct

Nov Dec Jan Feb March April May June July Aug Sept

OCTOBER 2009

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

MOUNTAIN HEART
Friday, October 9, 2009, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10

CRAIG SOUTHERN AND PHOENIX
Saturday, October 10, 2009, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre

JIMMY JOHNSON "SPIRIT OF ELVIS"
Saturday, October 17, 2009, 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $25/$20

JIMMY JOHNSON "SPIRIT OF ELVIS"
Saturday, October 24, 2009, 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $25/$20

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE 
Saturday, October 17, 2009, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema, $7/$10, Children under 12 Free;
The Carolina Travelers and special guests celebrate our area's musical heritage. 

OPIE AWARDS
October 24, 2009, Old-Time Music Hall, $10

top of page


 

NOVEMBER 2009

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

LOU REID AND CAROLINA
Saturday, November 7, 2009, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre, $12

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, November 7, 2009, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Heritage Hall, $5

THE GIN GAME
Friday-Saturday, November 6-7 at 7:30 p.m and Sunday, November 8, 2009 at 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE 
Saturday, November 21, 2009, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema, $7/$10, Children under 12 Free; The Carolina Travelers and special guest celebrate our area's musical heritage.

THE NUTCRACKER
Tuesday, November 24, 2009, 7:00 pm, Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10, New York Ballet for Young Audiences will once again bring their talented troupe to Mount Airy and will include Surry Arts Council dance students in the production.

top of page


 

DECEMBER 2009

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m. 

CHRISTMAS TEA
Saturday, December 5, 2009, 1:00 - 3:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $10

VOCE's "HOLIDAY CONCERT"
Saturday, December 5, 2009, 3:00 p.m, Andy Griffith Playhouse

MAYBERRY AMPED
Saturday, December 5, 2009, 7:30 p.m, Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, December 5, 2009, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

JIMMY JOHNSON "SPIRIT OF ELVIS"
Saturday, December 12, 2009, 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $20/$25

DICKENS' CHRISTMAS CAROL - TheatreWorks USA
Thursday, December 17, 2009, 7:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10

THE EMBERS CHRISTMAS CONCERT
Friday, December 18, 2009, 8:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10 ($15 at the door)

HOLIDAY VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE 
Saturday, December 19, 2009, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema, $10, Children under 12 Free; The Carolina Travelers and special guests celebrate the season.

top of page


 

JANUARY 2010

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, January 2, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE
Saturday, January 16, 2010, 7:30 p.m. Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10/$7, Children under 12 Free; The Carolina Travelers welcome special guests.

top of page


FEBRUARY 2010

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, February 5, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

BOBBY OSBORNE AND THE ROCKY TOP X-PRESS
Saturday, February 6, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10 Advanced, $15 at door

JIMMY JOHNSON "SPIRIT OF ELVIS"
Saturday, February 13, 2010, 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $25/$20

MIKE WILEY "JACKIE ROBINSON"
Thursday, February 18, 2010, 7:00 p.m. Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $

SHAKESPEARE ONE ACTS
Friday, February 19, 2010, 7:00 p.m. and Saturday-Sunday, February 20-21, 2010, 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE
Saturday, February 20, 2010, 7:30 p.m.
Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10/$7 Surry County Resident, Children under 12 Free
The Carolina Travelers welcome special guests.

TOMMY JARRELL FESTIVAL DANCE
Friday, February 26, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

TOMMY JARRELL FESTIVAL BIRTHDAY CONCERT
Saturday, February 27, 2010, 7:00 p.m. Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10
Join mentees of Tommy Jarrell as we celebrate Tommy's birthday.

top of page


MARCH 2010

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, March 6, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

ARTSBALL 2010
Friday, March 5, 2010, 6:00 p.m., Cross Creek Country Clubl, $75 per person; Annual fundraiser for arts in the schools with live music, dancing, dinner, silent and live auction.

JIMMY JOHNSON "SPIRIT OF ELVIS"
Saturday, March 13, 2010, 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $25/$20

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE
Saturday, March 20, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10/$7 Surry County Residents, Children under 12 Free; The Carolina Travelers welcome special guests.

VOCE SPRING CONCERT
Sunday, March 7, 2010, 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse
Sandy Beam directs this auditioned area chorale in their annual spring concert.

top of page


APRIL 2010

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, April 3, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

GIDEON
Friday-Saturday, April 9-10, 2010, 7:30 p.m. and Sunday, April 11, 2010, 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE
Saturday, April 17, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10/$7 Surry County Residents, Children under 12 Free; The Carolina Travelers host special guests.

MOUNTAIN HEART
Friday, April 30, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre (Blackmon Amphitheatre if weather permits), $10

top of page


MAY 2010

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, May 1, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

SUMMER ARTS SERIES
May 1, 2010 - September 19, 2010
SEASON PASSES are $100 through May 1, 2010 then $125
Children 12 and under are Free at Summer Arts Series Events at the Blackmon Amphitheatre and the Downtown Cinema Theatre

BAND OF OZ
Thursday, May 6, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

THE FANTASTICKS
Friday-Saturday, May 7-8, 2010, 7:30 p.m. and Sunday, May 9, 2010, 2010, 4:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10 or Season Pass

CATALINAS
Friday, May 14, 2010, Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE
Saturday, May 15, 2010, 7:30 p.m.; Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10/$7 Surry County Residents, or Season Pass; The Carolina Travelers host special guests.

SEA CRUZ
Friday, May 21, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

MAYBERRY AMPED
Saturday, May 22, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

SAC DANCE RECITAL
Sunday, May 23, 2010, 3:00 p.m.; Andy Griffith Playhouse

THE EMBERS
Thursday, May 27, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

THE FANTASTIC SHAKERS
Friday, May 28, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

"A FACE IN THE CROWD"
Saturday, May 29, 2010, 9:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre (or) Downtown Cinema, $5 or Season Pass

top of page


JUNE 2010

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

MIXED EMOTIONS
Friday, June 4, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

MOUNT AIRY FIDDLERS CONVENTION www.mountairyfiddlersconvention.com 
Friday-Saturday, June 5-6, 2010

STORYTALES
Tuesday, June 8, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, Free

NORTH TOWER
Friday, June 11, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

"NO TIME FOR SERGEANTS"
Saturday, June 12, 2010, 9:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre (or) Downtown Cinema, $5 or Season Pass

ARTS ALIVE
Monday-Thursday, June 14-19, 2010, 3-5 yr olds, 9:30 a.m.-12 noon, Andy Griffith Playhouse, $35

STORYTALES
Tuesday, June 15, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, Free

REDHEAD EXPRESS
Thursday, June 17, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10 advance ($15 at door), Children under 12 are free (note: this show is not included in the 2010 Summer Season Pass).

COASTLINE
Friday, June 18, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE
Saturday, June 19, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10/$7 Surry County Resident or Season Pass. The Carolina Travelers host special guests.

ARTS ALIVE
Monday-Thursday, June 21-24, 2010, 6-11, 9:30 a.m.-12 noon, Andy Griffith Playhouse, $35

ARTS ALIVE FESTIVAL
Thursday, June 24, 2010, 6:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre

STORYTALES
Tuesday, June 22, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, Free

HOLIDAY BAND
Friday, June 25, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

THE VIP PROJECT
Saturday, June 26, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

VOCE
Saturday, June 27, 2010, 3:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse

STORYTALES
Tuesday, June 29, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, Free

CRAIG WOOLARD BAND
Wednesday, June 30, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

top of page


JULY 2010

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

BAND OF OZ
Thursday, July 1, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

ENTERTAINERS
Friday, July 2, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, July 3, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

STORYTALES
Tuesday, July 6, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, Free

MARK ROBERTS AND BREEZE
Friday, July 9, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

THE EMBERS
Saturday, July 10, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

"WAITRESS"
Saturday, July 10, 2010, 9:00 p.m., Downtown Cinema, $5 or Season Pass

MISSOULA CHILDREN'S THEATRE
Monday-Friday, July 12-16, 2010, Andy Griffith Playhouse, $150

STORYTALES
Tuesday, July 13, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, Free

JIMMY LOWRY TRIBUTE
Friday, July 16, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

MISSOULA CHILDREN'S THEATRE PRODUCTION
Saturday, July 17, 2010, Andy Griffith Playhouse, $5 or Season Pass

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE
Saturday, July 17, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10/$7 Surry County Resident
The Carolina Travelers welcome special guests.

STORYTALES
Tuesday, July 20, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, Free

COASTLINE
Friday, July 23, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

NO SPEED LIMIT
Saturday, July 24, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10 or Season Pass

STORYTALES
Tuesday, July 27, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, Free

"WEDDING OF THE SIAMESE TWINS"
Friday, July 30, 2010, 3:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $10 or Season Pass

TOO MUCH SYLVIA
Friday, July 30, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

"WEDDING OF THE SIAMESE TWINS"
Saturday, July 31, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $10 or Season Pass

top of page


AUGUST 2010

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND (live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, August 7, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

STORYTALES
Tuesday, August 3, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, Free

MARK ROBERTS AND BREEZE
Friday, August 6, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

"CATS"
Saturday, August 7, 2010, 3:00 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., Sunday, August 8, 2010 at 3:00 p.m. and Monday, August 9, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10 or Season Pass

SEA CRUZ
Friday, August 13, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

MARK DONNELL'S FAMILY SHOW
Saturday, August 14, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $5 or Season Pass

NORTH TOWER
Friday, August 20, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass"A BAD

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE
Saturday, August 21, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10/$7 Surry County Resident or Season Pass. The Carolina Travelers welcome special guests.

HOLIDAY BAND
Friday, August 27, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $10 or Season Pass

MAYBERRY AMPED
Saturday, August 28, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

top of page


SEPTEMBER 2010

JAM SESSION at the Andy Griffith Playhouse every Thursday evening from 7-10 p.m.

JAM SESSION at Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday morning from 9-11 a.m.

MERRY-GO-ROUND(live radio broadcast) Downtown Cinema Theatre every Saturday from 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

THE EMBERS
Thursday, September 2, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

MIXED EMOTIONS
Friday, September 3, 2010, Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

OLD TIME DANCE with SLATE MOUNTAIN RAMBLERS
Saturday, September 4, 2010, 7:00 p.m., Old-Time Music Heritage Hall, $5

THE FANTASTIC SHAKERS
Friday, September 10, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10 or Season Pass

VOICE OF THE BLUE RIDGE
Saturday, September 18, 2010, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema Theatre, $10/$7 Surry County Resident or Season Pass, The Carolina Travelers welcome special guests.

21th ANNUAL MAYBERRY DAYS 2010, 50th Anniversary of TAGS
Thursday-Sunday, September 23-26, 2010 

Mayberry Days GOLF CCCC noon; DINNER/ENTERTAINMENT 5:00-7:30 p.m. $95
Mayberry Days DINNER/ENTERTAINMENT Cross Creek Country Club, 5 p.m. $40
BOBBY OSBORNE AND ROCKY TOP X-PRESS, 7:30 p.m., Downtown Cinema, $15/$20
BAND OF OZ, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $15

Friday, September 24, 2010
PROCLAMATION, Blackmon Amphitheatre, 11:00 a.m. 
KAREN KNOTTS "TIED UP IN KNOTTS" Downtown Cinema Theatre, 12:30 p.m., $15
DOUG DILLARD BAND MATINEE, 2:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $25
DOUG DILLARD BAND, 7:00 p.m., Andy Griffith Playhouse, $25
VESSELS OF CLAY, 7:00 p.m., Downtown Cinema, $10
VW BOYS, Downtown Cinema Theatre, 9:30 p.m., $10

Saturday, September 25, 2010
NEAL BROWER'S LECTURE & TAGSRWC Annual Meeting, 2:00 p.m., $7 
COLONEL TIM'S TALENT TIME MATINEE, Andy Griffith Playhouse, 2:30 p.m., $25
COLONEL TIM'S TALENT TIME, Andy Griffith Playhouse, 7:00 p.m., $25
MICHAEL HOOVER "MEMORIES OF ELVIS", 7:00 p.m., Downtown Cinema, $15/$20
THE RAFE HOLLISTER BAND, 7:30 p.m., Blackmon Amphitheatre, $10
MOVIE, Downtown Cinema Theatre, 9:30 p.m., $3

Sunday, September 27, 2010
MAYBERRY DAYS CHAPEL, Blackmon Amphitheatre, 9:30 a.m., Free

top of page

 

 

 

 

Privacy Policy

Copyright 2014